top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKelsey Bohman

My Inspiration Family Tree

As you can see throughout this blog, I talk about many beauty influencers and I like to keep up to date with them and their products because they inspire me. My inspirations are inspired by other people that I look up to which broadens my influences. It's fun to trace back what inspires or influences the people that you keep up with because it shows the roots of your inspirations.


The people in this industry that inspires me the most are Jeffree Star, James Charles, Tati Westbrook, Safiya Nygaard and Jenna Marbles. Each aspect of these people inspired this blog and I want to give them credit for helping me create this blog.

 

Jeffree Star inspires me because he worked his way up in this industry by himself. Jeffree is an amazing self-taught makeup artist and came from nothing but now he owns one of the biggest brands of makeup. He started out in music and transferred his creative work into makeup. He is unfiltered and tells it how it is rather than being fake to get more business.


Some of the people and companies that have inspired Jeffree Star throughout the years are:


These are the companies and people that he loved while he was building his brand and they gave him the motivation to continue his beauty career.

 

James Charles works hard to prepare high quality videos and he’s only 19, I really like how he thinks deeply about the makeup industry and he has a product out, so he understands marketing of makeup and what people want. I don’t only look up to him for this blog but overall, he’s a big inspiration for me working towards my goals.


James Charles has more recent inspirations because he is a younger influencer in the industry:


Jaclyn and Nikki are who he has said that inspired his makeup looks and his product that he created and Morphe Cosmetics is who he collaborated with on his very first eyeshadow palette.

 

Tati Westbrook has an amazing tone to her YouTube channel where it is relaxing and informative, but she doesn't shy away from humor. The biggest reason that Tati is one of my favorite influencers is because she has no big scandals and is mostly unproblematic online throughout this industry.


Tati has been in the industry for a long time, but her inspirations have changed over the years from creating her skincare brand. These newer influencers include:


Tatcha is known for skincare and it seems like Tati is taking after that brand to create her own, and Tati has been doing more collaborations and having less of a filter like Jeffree Star.

 

Safiya Nygaard isn’t a typical beauty guru, but she does different experiments with makeup products and she makes it fun. She is creative with her videos and really digs deep on her subject that she's talking about. She does a lot of research on what she’s doing for each video and she is very thorough in explaining what she is doing.


Safiya has a different background than most beauty gurus:

Safiya started her career off at Buzzfeed and once she left, she began collaborating a lot with Cristine Rotenberg who runs her YouTube channel, Simply Nailogical.

 

Now Jenna Marbles is probably surprising to see but she has many videos on how he wants to be like the "beautiful people" of instagram. These videos are hilarious because she usually fails and I totally feel this way when I don’t have the money to get a certain product or tool and she makes people feel more comfortable with not understanding how to do certain looks and hacks.


Jenna Marbles was one of the first people to get famous off of youtube, that greatly impacts who her inspirations are:

Shane Dawson was right with Jenna as an early YouTuber, and in her makeup videos, she talks about how she wants to be like Nikki Tutorials and calls her one of the "beautiful people of Instagram"

 

The most interesting thing that I noticed from mapping out this inspiration family tree are all of the overlaps of influences. All of the people and companies that I found connected to my inspirations, I also love which makes total sense and before this, I never realized how these companies and people influenced me



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page